Tailor made

No, this isn’t an article about golf (although I wish it was), it’s about suits. Before I came to China, my college roommate visited Hong Kong and had some custom made suits made. He told me that while I was here I needed to get some suits made. So getting a tailor made suit has always been on my to-do list.

Last week I decided it was time to finally get a custom made suit. All over the city there are different tailors who make suits but thank god my boss, Kristian, needed a suit too because there was no way I could tell a tailor what I’d want. So we went together with his Chinese wife to get fitted.

I wasn’t really sure what to expect. I went into this mall where this tailor had a stall set up. There were manikins all over with different types of suits. First you get measured. He measured the length of my arms and legs, he measured how big my chest and stomach were, he even measured my crotch.

Then I went to pick out the type of fabric I wanted. I went back to the manikins and picked the fabric I liked best. I picked out this black, checkered patterned fabric. The tailor asked me what style I wanted the suit, and told me to come back in a week.

The next week I went back to pick up and try on my suit. I fitted perfectly, as it should have since it was custom made.

Wanting to put my suit to good use and not have it sit in my closet for the rest of the year, I decided wear my suit to work. Now the dress code at work is fairly lade back, no jeans, no sneakers and no t-shirt, everything else is ok. So wearing a suit to work was really out of the blue and kind of made me look like a total idiot. But I didn’t care.

All in all, my entire suit cost me 460RMB, that’s about $70 for a custom made suit. Not too shabby. And the thing is, I don’t even like wearing suits.

About JoelS

Spending a year teaching English and saving the world in China
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

