Update On Student X

A while back I asked everyone for some advice on what I should do with one of my students. To remind you, I had just finished my TB4B class and I wasn’t sure whether or not to pass one of my students, Student X, to TB5A. I gave her three lessons to prove herself, to show me that she belonged in the next level. Three classes turned into four and I still wasn’t sure what to do, she was continuing to do the bare minimum. Just enough to get by, but not enough to impress me.

After I posed the question to everybody I received a variety of different responses. Some were very harsh and some were lenient. In the end I decided that I would not let her stay in the class and that she would have to go back and redo the previous class.

My decision was based on the fact that I was not going to be doing her any favors by passing her. She was not at the level of the other students and if I did pass her she would have continued to struggle. If I let her stay, it would only have been because I didn’t want to hurt her feelings, not because she deserved to be there.

Student X has now been placed into another TB4B which is about half way through the course. This is what I was hoping for because she doesn’t need to repeat the whole course, she just needs sharpen her skills.

Thanks for the advice everyone gave, it was really helpful.

About JoelS

Spending a year teaching English and saving the world in China
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

