Trying New Looks

After seeing the pictures from my last blog post a few of you might wondering what happened to my beard. If you are smart, you would have realized that I shaved it off.

My whole life I have been clean shaven. I have never really grown a true Grizzly Adams type of beard before. I once tried in college, but another student mistook me for being a 40 year old professor so I shaved it off.

I was determined to grow a legit beard, so I started growing my beard after my parents left in October. I grew it for the better part of two months. It got long, itchy, and annoying. In China facial hair is seen as very ugly. So when I thought that people were staring at me because I was a cool looking foreigner, in reality they were staring at me because I was a hideous beast.

So me being me, I couldn’t just shave my beard off and be done with it. I had to experiment with different looks. I tired everything I could, from the friendly mutton chops, to the Franz Joseph, to the Charlie Chaplin, and finally clean shaven just to name a few. (That’s right; I looked up the names of facial hair styles). I even went in to teach class with one of the styles. Try to guess which facial hair style I went into school with?

Here is a look at the different looks. Tell me which one you think is the best.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About JoelS

Spending a year teaching English and saving the world in China
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

