Spreading Some Chanukah Cheer

Life in China is not easy for a Jew, especially if you are the only one in your city. With the schedule I have, and location I am in, it has been very hard for me to celebrate Jewish holidays. But ‘tis the season and I wanted to try and do something for Chanukah.

To tell you the truth I would have totally forgotten about Chanukah if not for the e-mails I received from my friends and family wishing me a Happy Chanukah. Chanukah is a holiday I knew I could observe all by myself. So I went to the store and bought some candles. That night I was having dinner at Wu Gong’s restaurant (my Chinese friend who owns the BBQ restaurant). After eating, I taught Wu Gong what Chanukah is all about and we lit the candles together right in the middle of the restaurant among his other customers.

I have since made a makeshift menorah in my apartment out of a plastic bag and have been lighting the candles every night. I know not the safest, but you make due with what you have.

I want to wish everyone a Happy Chanukah and to my non-Jewish friends, Happy Holidays.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About JoelS

Spending a year teaching English and saving the world in China
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

