Thanksgiving Demo

So it’s official, I have become the token American here at EF. For every “American” holiday I am called upon to representmy great country. I had to put on a pirate demo for talk like pirate day, I had to do a Thanksgiving demofor Thanksgiving. EF puts on these demos to give the students a taste of America. Not that these demosare anywhere relevant to what we do in the States.

Just like the pirate demo, they wanted me to dress up. But how do you dress up for Thanksgiving?I told them to make me a pilgrim’s hat. That’s as Thanksgiving-ish you can get, right? So they made me ahat, but it didn’t look like a pilgrim’s hat. It was more of a big top hat. With my beard (the longest it hasever been) I looked more like the leprechaun from the Lucky Charms cereal than I did a pilgrim.

My guidelines for the demo were clear, nothing educational, and do whatever you want related as long itwas related to Thanksgiving. It was hard to think of activities to do. I mean, I have celebrate Thanksgivingevery year, but I couldn’t think of any activities for children to do?

The only one I could think of is when you trace your hand and make a turkey. But I still needed a fewmore activities. I chose two other games that have nothing to do with Thanksgiving and I made one moreup that had some connection to the holiday but not totally. The first two involved them having a wheelbarrel race and playing gaga (its where you hit a ball and you don’t want it to hit your legs). The finalgame I made myself. I called it “pass the pox.”

The way the game worked was that I picked a few students to be the “Pilgrims,” they had to throw shirtsand blankets at the “Indians.” If an Indian got hit by a piece of clothing they had to stop where they wereand sit down and pretend to die. This was to represent the settlers giving the Indians blankets covered insmall pox and wiping out entire tribes. I was debating on whether to tell my students the true meaningbehind the game, but I decided against it. It’s better for it to be left to their imagination.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA small pox game

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About JoelS

Spending a year teaching English and saving the world in China
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

