Just A Typical Week

I have been hearing a lot of complaining from many of my friends about how much they work, how work is so boring, and how they hate their jobs. They all tell me that I am so lucky to be spending the year in China not “really working.” To tell you the truth, I think I work more hours than most of the people who are complaining. Let me give you a rundown of my weekly schedule.

Monday and Tuesday:

These are my days off when we are not in intensives (which was the whole summer and will start again for winter break. During which point I will have only one day off a week).

Wednesday:

I will get into the office around 11-12 and start planning for the week. I plan my Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and a few Sunday classes. That’s six classes all together (four 1 hour classes and two 2 hour classes).  I have a teachers meeting from 2:45-3:15 pm and then I have two Small Star classes from 5:30-6:30 pm, and from 6:40-7:40 pm. At this point I have been in the office for far too long and I head home.

Thursday:

On Thursdays I get in around the same time, 11-12 and start planning for the weekend. If I hadn’t finished planning the week I will finish it first and then start on the weekend. All of my classes on the weekend are 2-hour classes. They take the longest to plan. I will try to plan my Saturday classes first. I then have a teacher’s workshop from 3-4 pm and then teach my CLT (business language) class from 6-8 pm.

Friday:

On Fridays it’s a little different. Instead of having class a night I have a different CLT class in the middle of the day. I have to commute to this company, which is a half hour away. So that is from 2-5 pm, including commute time. When I get back I try to plan the rest of the weekend. I might leave around 7 pm.

Saturday:

I wake up early and I am in work by 8:30 am. Saturdays and Sundays are our busiest days because kids don’t have school on the weekend. From 9:30-11:30 I have one of my CLT classes (I teach each CLT class twice a week). From 1-3 I have a TB4A (Trailblazer) class of 13-15 year olds. From 4-6 I teach another TB4A class (this is the class I hate the most as many of the kids are dicks). And from 6:30-7:30 I teach a Small Stars class. If I haven’t finished planning for the weekend, I do so after the class either in the office or at home. At this point I have been at work from 8:30 am till around 8 pm.

Sunday:

Like Saturday I wake up early and am in work by 8:30 am. I start with two Small Star classes. One from 9-10 am and the other from 11-12 am. I then teach a CLT class from 1-3 pm and afterwards a TB4B class from 3:15-5:15 pm. At this point I have to do a demo for prospective students. It is a 20-minute lesson that I do in front of students and parents to convince them to join EF. Afterwards I have to perform a placement test for some of the kids who participated in the demo to see what class they would place into. I then end my day and my week with a Small Star class from 6:30-7:30 pm. I will leave work around 8 and head home.

Adding up all my hours, I am in the office about 48-50 hours a week. Now granted I am not always working every minute I am there but lets face it, neither are you. So from now on I don’t want to hear any more complaining about how much you work.

About JoelS

Spending a year teaching English and saving the world in China
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

