A Culinary Experience

Everywhere I walk here in China I see new foods either being cooked or in stores. One day it might be squid; another day it might be dog meat. The Chinese have a weird sense of what is delicious (at least to me and my western palate). Last night I was walking by a bunch of street vendors with my roommate Sam when I saw something that I had never seen before. It looked like a testicle. I walked up to owner of the stall and pointed to the testicle curiously. He said what it was in Chinese, but still haven’t not mastered Chinese I didn’t understand what he said. Having become very good at pantomiming, I pointed to my nuts and the vendor nodded his head yes.

Before I left for China my brother told me that the one thing I needed to try were testicles. In America we always watched shows like Bizarre Foods or Man vs. Wild with Bear Grylls and they were always eating foods that we westerners would find disgusting. So heeding my brother’s advice, Sam and I ordered a testicle. I know what you’re thinking, NOT KOSHER. That’s the first thing I was thinking about too, but when in Rome, right?

First the cook speared the testicle with skewers and placed it on the grill over the hot coals. As we watched him cook it the testicle started to expand over the heat. He then took a knife and sliced the testicle in half (which made me cringe). He then started to season the testicle with salt and an assortment of other spices. The irony did not escape me that I was about to munch on salty balls.

lamb testicle  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When it came time to eating it, Sam was the first to jump in and try it. It was then my turn. I bit in thinking it would be chewy but it was actually really soft and creamy. Some parts of the testicle were a little bit chewy but most of it was really soft. I would describe it like eating a hard-boiled egg, but not as dry. There was so much seasoning on it that it kind of drowned out the true flavor of the testicle. I’m not sure if I will try another but it was quite the culinary experience.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About JoelS

Spending a year teaching English and saving the world in China
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

