Shanah Tova

So it has been another end to a long and exhausting week. Tomorrow I am leaving early in the morning for Hong Kong to get my work visa. If I don’t get it, I might be kicked out of the country. I will be there for two and a half days. Not that much time, but it should be a fun and interesting adventure.

EF has not been super helpful in trying to accommodate my religious beliefs and have made it kind of difficult to observe Rosh Hashanah here. I was planning on finding the Jewish community in Hong Kong but EF is making me fly back on Wednesday after Rosh Hashanah. So, I am going to try to connect with the Chabad community in Beijing. Right now I have tentative plans on meeting up with a certain family. I haven’t heard back from them so I don’t know what exactly the deal is.  My plan is to be back in Beijing Wednesday night for the first night of Rosh Hashanah and to spend the first half of the first day in Beijing as well. I have to be back in Qinhuangdao (QHD) by 3 pm for a workshop, so I will be cutting my day short in Beijing.

If I don’t have a chance to talk to you (since I will be in Hong Kong) before Rosh Hashanah, I want to wish everyone a Shanah Tova U’Mitukah, have a sweet and healthy new year.

About JoelS

Spending a year teaching English and saving the world in China
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shanah Tova

  1. BECCA says:

    JOEL!! YOU DIDNT TELL ME U WERE GOING TO HK!! chag sameach, xin nian kuai le

Leave a Reply

