Me Casa

A lot of you have been asking me what my living conditions are like here in China. I’m sure some of you think I am living in a Chinese heroin den and others think I am living like a goddamn king in the emperor’s palace.

The fact of the matter is I live in a decent two-bedroom apartment. I live on the top floor of a six-floor apartment complex with no evaluator, so I am getting plenty of exercise.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Like I said before in a previous post, since families are only able to have one child, the majority of apartments only have two bedrooms. There is one big room for the parents and one small room for the child. For the first month I lived in the small room. The small room was so small that I could reach out and touch opposite sides of the room at the same time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now that Damien left, I am living the big room.  To tell you the truth the apartments and neighborhoods really reminds me of the neighborhood I lived in when I lived in Israel. The apartments look somewhat the same and if you are walking alone and don’t see any Chinese people, it has the same feel as Israel. It also feels like my apartment in Israel because I have a big kitchen that I don’t use and because I have a bathroom where the sink, shower, and toilet are all right next to each other. Sometimes if I am in a rush I will take a shower while brushing my teeth.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Otherwise things are good with the place. Now that I am in the big room things are better. I have a new roommate coming tomorrow his name is Sam and I hope that he is a good dude. I guess I’ll find out tomorrow.

About JoelS

Spending a year teaching English and saving the world in China
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

