Some Names Just Suck

So as I mentioned before, by having the small kids I have the privilege of being able to name them. I was able to give out some unique names as well as name some kids after friends and family. I wanted to name some kids after my two good friends and former roommates Ben Coleman and Gabi Weisel. But there was a problem with their names. It wasn’t that their names were too long and hard to pronounce (like when I tried naming a kid Muhammad). The problem was that they have the worst possible names you could have here in China. In Chinese, Ben means retarded, and Gabi (or Gaby since I needed a name for a girl) means stupid. So lucky me, I had a retard and an idiot as roommates at the same time. Like I said, some names just suck.

About JoelS

Spending a year teaching English and saving the world in China
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Some Names Just Suck

  1. becca says:

    YOU ARE FREAKING HILARIOUS

Leave a Reply

